RSS

Purity, Virtue and Mumford & Sons’ “I Will Wait”

05 Sep

Christina Mead from Life Teen blogs recently about the lyrics of the new Mumford & Sons single, “I Will Wait.”  (video below)  The point of her blog is that true love waits and this song has become her theme song for purity.  She writes, “Just put your eyes on this (a portion of the lyrics):

Now I’ll be bold
As well as strong
And use my head alongside my heart
So tame my flesh
And fix my eyes
That tethered mind freed from the lies
And I kneel down, wait for now
I’ll kneel down, know my ground
Raise my hands, paint my spirit gold
bow my head, keep my heart slow
Cause I will wait, I will wait for you

Let me break it down in my own words and interpret this lyrical beauty in light of the faith . . .

  • It takes boldness and strength to go against the tide of culture.
  • You have to commit in your heart to what you believe in your head.
  • When you give your flesh and your bodily desires over to God for Him to purify, He will help you to stay rooted in the truth of what true love is. Kneel in prayer and God will raise you up in Divine virtue.”

As we move into a new catechetical season, how are you going to address chastity and purity with your youth?  One resource that I have found useful is:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2012 in Chastity

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

